Africa

Eight years since the beginning of the Arab Spring, the situation in the Maghreb and the Mashriq remains worrying and the security risks are still very present (notably in Tunisia, Libya and Egypt).  The arc of instability that crosses the continent south of the Sahara is now almost continuous, from the borders of Mauritania to Kenya, from AQIM (al-Qaeda in the Islamic Maghreb) to al-Shabaab.

In over half the continent, the (delayed) awareness of the spread of a very active radical Islamisation has not given rise to effective responses. Concerns, tensions, and instabilities have spread (Egypt, Morocco, Senegal, Burkina Faso, CAR, Kenya etc), in the context of failing school systems, dissension of social connections and external influences.

At the same time, the fight against terrorism connects states, foreign troops (French, Russian, American etc), and regional organisations (G5 Sahel), without managing to stem the insecurity or halt the threat of attacks and bombings.  The coordination of efforts in development, defence and security frequently remain at the point of declarations of intention.

Even if the economic situation is showing some good indicators (growth, creation of wealth), they are not up to the demographic challenge; the inequalities are more and more visible and less accepted by a population that is mostly young.  The old centres of political stability are becoming increasingly weak and the ageing regimes are being challenged.  Social movements remain regular, sometimes violent, and inter-community, inter-religious and inter-ethnic tensions are present on almost the entire continent.

Human Trafficking

Home to armed conflict, government instability and extreme poverty, the African continent pushes many of its inhabitants in search of escape to new horizons.  In the hope of finding a more stable and supportive environment, these people are at great risk of being trafficked.  Large trafficking networks thrive due to a lack of cooperation from, and between, African states.  Human trafficking can take many forms and borders on slavery: sex trafficking, child sex trafficking, forced labour (including children), debt bondage and domestic servitude.  The African countries most affected are Lybia, Mauritania, Nigeria, Eirtrea, South Sudan, Burundi, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Congo and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Afrique

Huit ans après le début des printemps arabes, la situation du Maghreb et du Machrek demeure préoccupante et les risques sécuritaires sont très présents (notamment en Tunisie, en Libye, en Egypte). L’arc d’instabilité qui traverse le continent au sud du Sahara est désormais quasiment continu, des frontières mauritaniennes au Kenya, d’AQMI et ses affiliés aux Shebab.

Sur plus de la moitié du continent, la prise de conscience (à retardement) de la diffusion d’un islamisation radical très actif n’a pas fait naître de réponse efficace. Les inquiétudes, les tensions et les instabilités (Égypte, Maroc, Sénégal, Burkina Faso, RCA, Kenya, etc.) s’étendent, sur fond de système scolaire défaillant, de dissension du lien social et d’influences extérieures.

En face, la lutte contre le terrorisme associe des Etats, des troupes étrangères (françaises, russes, américaines, etc.), des organisations régionales (G5 Sahel), sans parvenir à endiguer l’insécurité ni faire disparaître les menaces d’attaques et d’attentats. L’arrimage des efforts de développement, de défense et de sécurité reste souvent au niveau des déclarations d’intention.

Même si la situation économique affiche quelques bons indicateurs (croissance, création de richesse), ils ne sont pas à la hauteur de l’enjeu démographique; les inégalités sont de plus en plus visibles et de moins en moins bien supportées par une population majoritairement jeune. Les anciens pôles de stabilité politique sont de moins en moins solides et les régimes vieillissants sont contestés. Les mouvements sociaux restent réguliers, parfois très violents, et les tensions inter-communautaires, interreligieuses et interethniques présentes sur quasiment tout le continent.

Trafic des êtres humains :

Foyer de conflits armés, d’instabilité gouvernementale et d’extrême pauvreté, le continent africain pousse nombre de ses habitants à vouloir s’échapper vers de nouveaux horizons. Dans l’espoir de trouver un endroit plus stable et plus propice, ces personnes sont exposées à des risques élevés de traite et au trafic des êtres humains. D’importants réseaux de trafiquants prospèrent en raison du manque de coopération des – et entre les – États africains. Le trafic d’êtres humains revêt plusieurs formes, et confine souvent à un esclavage plus ou moins implicite : trafics sexuels, trafics sexuels d’enfants, travaux forcés (y compris des enfants), servitudes pour dettes et servitudes domestiques. Les pays d’Afrique les plus touchés par le trafic d’êtres humains sont la Libye, la Mauritanie, le Nigeria, l’Érythrée, le Soudan du Sud, le Burundi, la Guinée Équatoriale, le Gabon, le Congo et la République Démocratique du Congo.