Focus crisis of Lake Chad

Mali

In the last five years, Mali witnessed one of the most violent periods in its history. Previously in the North, the insecurity has today shifted towards the centre, in the Mopti region, as well as in Ségou and Sikasso, and, to a lesser extent, in the Kayes region. A fragmented rebellion, a restructured jihadism and a passive government are delaying the implementation of the peace and reconciliation agreement signed in 2015.

Nigeria

Despite the Nigerian army’s fight against Boko Haram and the joint military actions in the cross-border area of Chad, the islamist group, whose relations with the Islamic State have had ups and downs, is still resisting and its actions have now extended to the Lake Chad basin.

Niger

The security situation remains delicate on the borders with Mali, Libya and Nigeria, notably in Diffa against Boko Haram. The regions of Tillabery and North Tahoua have also been affected by jihadist attacks and drug traffickers. In June 2017, the government extended the state of emergency, and the country is now at the centre of the new G5 Sahel military operation in cooperation with Operation Barkhane and MINUSMA troops. Niger suffers from chronic food insecurity and regular natural crises, including severe droughts. These difficulties are simultaneously aggravated by one of the strongest population growth in the world.

Chad

Conflicts in neighbouring countries, the drying up of Lake Chad and the low oil prices since 2014 weigh on the political stability of the country. After 15 years of strong GDP growth per capita, the poverty rate has started to rise again since 2014. The country is host to approximately 400,000 refugees from South Sudan, the Central African Republic and Nigeria, adding to the many displacements of Chadians within the country. Following the wave of deadly suicide bombings in 2015, the country, still suffering from sporadic attacks, has taken the lead in the military coalition (G5) established to eradicate terrorism in the region.

Central African Republic

The instability continues in the Central African Republic despite its political transition more than a year ago and the growing presence of United Nations forces and African troops in the country. Confrontations between communities persist and prevent any economic recovery. The population suffers from a growing food deficit and only survives thanks to the assistance of NGOs and UN humanitarian organisations, which estimate that 70% of the population is food insecure and that 50% of this population suffers from hunger.

Tuaregs in the Sahel

The Tuaregs, traditionally nomadic, began to settle down in the second half of the 20th century. The Tuaregs (1 to 3 million people, the majority [85%] of whom live in Mali) live today in central Sahara and parts of the Sahel, in a territory that covers five countries: Algeria, Libya, Mali, Niger and Burkina Faso. In 2012, this vast region was transformed into a sanctuary and base for jihadist operations, until the launch of French military Operation Barkhane in August 2014. Since 2015, the peace agreement to stabilise northern Mali fails to be implemented.

Focus crise du Lac Tchad

Mali

Les cinq dernières années ont vu le Mali traverser une des périodes les plus violentes de son histoire. Précédemment cantonnée dans le Nord, l’insécurité s’est aujourd’hui déplacée vers le centre, la région de Mopti, aussi bien qu’à Ségou et Sikasso, et, dans une moindre mesure, dans la région de Kayes. Une rébellion fragmentée, un djihadisme recomposé et un gouvernement passif retardent la mise en œuvre de l’accord pour la paix et la réconciliation signé en 2015.

Nigeria

En dépit de la lutte menée contre Boko Haram par l’armée nigériane et malgré les actions militaires conjointes menées dans la zone transfrontal-ière du Tchad, le groupe islamiste, dont les relations avec l’État Islamique ont connu des hauts et des bas, résiste et son action s’étend désormais sur le bassin du lac Tchad.

Niger

La situation sécuritaire demeure fragile aux frontières avec le Mali, la Libye et le Nigeria, notamment à Diffa face au groupe Boko Haram. Les régions de Tillabéry et Nord Tahoua ont également été touchées par des attaques djihadistes et de narcotrafiquants. Le gouvernement a prolongé l’état d’urgence en Juin 2017 et le pays se trouve au centre de la nouvelle opération militaire du G5 Sahel en coopération avec les troupes de l’opération Barkhane et la MINUSMA. Le Niger souffre par ailleurs d’une insécurité alimentaire chronique et de crises naturelles régulières, notam-ment des sécheresses. Ces difficultés sont aggravées par croissance de la population, l’une des plus fortes du monde.

Tchad

Les conflits dans les pays voisins, l’assèchement du Lac Tchad et le cours du pétrole – bas depuis 2014 – pèsent sur la stabilité politique du pays. Après une quinzaine d’années de forte croissance du PIB par habitant, le taux de pauvreté a recommencé à croître depuis 2014. Le pays accueille près de 400 000 réfugiés du Soudan du Sud, de la République Centrafricaine et du Nigeria qui viennent s’ajouter aux nombreux déplacements de Tchadiens à l’intérieur même du pays. Après la vague d’attentats suicides meurtriers de 2015, le Tchad, qui subit toujours des attaques sporadiques, a pris la tête de la coalition militaire (G5) établie pour éradiquer le terrorisme.

République centrafricaine

Un an après la transition politique et en dépit de la présence de la force des Nations-Unies et de troupes africaines, la situation sécuritaire de la RCA ne parvient pas à être stabilisée. Les confrontations entre communautés perdurent et empêchent toute reprise d’un développement économique. La population souffre d’un déficit alimentaire croissant et ne survit que grâce aux ONG et aux structures humanitaires onusiennes qui estiment que 70 % de la population vit en insécurité alimentaire et que 50% de cette population souffre de la faim.

Les touaregs dans le sahel

Les Touaregs, traditionnellement nomades, ont commencé à se sédentariser au cours de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle. Les Touaregs (de 1 à 3 millions de personnes, dont la majorité [85%] vit au Mali) habitent le Sahara central et une partie du Sahel, sur un territoire qui, aujourd’hui, s’étend sur cinq pays : l’Algérie, la Libye, le Mali, le Niger et le Burkina Faso. En 2012, cette vaste région a été transformée en sanctuaire et en base d’opérations jihadistes, jusqu’au lancement par la France de l’opération Barkhane en août 2014. Depuis 2015, l’accord de paix devant stabiliser le nord du Mali ne parvient pas à être appliqué.