Central America

South America

In Latin and Central America, instability continues to increase, still linked to high crime rates and drug trafficking, Mexico and Brazil being the iconic examples.  In Colombia, the negotiations between FARC and the government has so far not turned into a political consensus, as the sides remain polarised.

In Venezuela, the political situation has become an unprecedented humanitarian crisis, whose political recovery harks back to the dark hours of US intervention in the region.  The combination of political tension, economic crisis and high crime continues to make this country the epicentre of risk in the region.

In Mexico, the security situation remains as critical as last year.  Urban crime remains very high in El Salvador and Honduras while Guatemala is still shaken by numerous anti-corruption demonstrations.  Nicaragua’s past political disputes have turned into serious social conflict, suppressed by a wave of arrests and assassinations perpetrated by paramilitary forces close to the government.

Costa Rica stands out this year, not for its political stability, but for a deep social divide, the amplification of which has led to visible repercussions on the country’s security.  For a long time a haven of peace in a troubled region, Costa Rica is now a moderate risk destination.

Amérique Latine

Amérique centrale

Amérique du sud

En Amérique Latine et Centrale, l’instabilité est de nouveau principalement liée à une forte criminalité et au trafic de drogues, prégnants notamment au Brésil et au Mexique. En Colombie, alors que les négociations entre le groupe révolutionnaire FARC et le gouvernement colombien se sont soldées par un succès (par la suite remis en cause par les électeurs), celles qui sont actuellement menées avec l’ELN en sont toujours dans leur phase initiale.

Depuis la baisse du prix du pétrole, le Venezuela a été lourdement et longuement perturbé par une crise politico-économique qui s’est progressivement aggravée. Elle s’est traduite par des désordres sociaux massifs, se soldant par des vagues d’arrestations n’ayant fait que renforcer la fracture politique divisant le pays. Ces amples désordres ont sérieusement exacerbé la criminalité dans le pays. La conjonction de la tension politique, de la crise économique et de la forte criminalité fait de ce pays l’épicentre des risques dans la région.

Au Mexique, la situation sécuritaire reste critique, avec une poursuite de la dégradation sécuritaire dans l’État du Veracruz. La criminalité urbaine demeure très élevée au Salvador et au Honduras alors que le Guatemala est toujours secoué par de nombreuses manifestations anti-corruption.